Pure Gym uses cookies to make the site simpler. Find out more.

Skip to main content

Newcastle St James

Newcastle St James is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 29.
  • y_2017, m_11, d_18, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_GB, sid_Gym-191, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_puregym-stores
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Email this gym
+44 8450305896
From £10.99 per month
NO CONTRACT - leave any time
Join now View membership options

Newcastle St James member reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from I picked the right gym I use both PureGym St James and PureGym Eldon Garden, and enjoy both a lot. They have their own perks. Eldon Garden has a bigger weights area, but St James is often less busy. I've attended classes and Pure Loser at St James, and the staff there are cracking. They strike a good balance of being motivational and humorous. I think given the access and kit are excellent given the price. Regarding both gyms: Really good value for money, and 24/7 access is awesome. Particularly if you are meeting with gym buddies and need to find a time that suits everyone. My only beef is I wish there was a cooler shower for those of us who don't like it too steamy after a workout!
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent gym, great PTs! I have been a member for over two years and have had the same PT for that length of time. Excellent staff, always helpful and brilliant guidance for training. The gym itself is kept clean and equipment is maintained to a high standard. The gym itself could benefit from better air conditioning as areas such as the treadmills do not have any cool air within reach. An area for TRX training would be brilliant maybe within the studio area? Some variance to the classes might be beneficial.
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just the gym for me I joined Pure Gym in February and I am really happy that I did. Newcastle St James gym has everything I need. Good quality equipment, good classes and clean facilities. I've never had a problem there. The classes especially are great at motivating me to keep going and stay focused.
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My happy place Signed up to help me lose weight. Little did I know it would heal me much more than physically. Always plenty of equipment and a really nice crowd gets in. PTs are always great and the place is spotless! Doesn't always smell great though, when no air con you can chew on the smell!
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient and clean The gym is overall excellent. Kept wonderfully clean and has well maintained, high quality equipment. One point is that it could do with another bench press as there is always a queue, meanwhile many bikes and treadmills are almost always vacant. Whilst I appreciate the need for a computerised check in system in a 24 hour gym, it has a very impersonal effect to it which could possibly be remedied by a greater staff presence with a friendlier approach to customers.
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good gym, awkward class times It's a good gym - busy at peak times, situation in the centre of town and near a busy college so it to be expected. Worst part about it is, no morning classes for people who work in the city centre. Latest classes on a morning are around 7am - a bit early for people who commute but work closeby. 7.30/7.45/8am classes would be ideal and I'm sure many would attend. Overall good value for money for £15 a month!
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good gym The Gym is excellent value for money. Never had any trouble booking a place in a class, decent amount of classes and good times for them. Gym is missing a few bit of equipment though, in particular, Lying Hamstring Curl & a Hack squat! if i was nit picking another bench Press and some heavier dumbbells. all in all though a very good gym for a good price.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great location, great access. I've been a member here for a few years now and very happy with my membership, excellent value for 24/7 access. It gets fairly busy at peak times during term time, being so close to the University but the 24 hour access negates this as a problem.
Date published: 2017-08-31
  • y_2017, m_11, d_18, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_GB, sid_Gym-191, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_puregym-stores
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT